Simply Successful Secrets

simplysuccessfulsecrets.jpg

I have been tagged by Lyman Reed of Creating A Better Life for the meme, Simply Successful Secrets.

I like this meme because I believe I am who I am, because of my daily habits. More specifically my actions and my thoughts. If these are consistently in line with what matters most then I feel that I am a success.

Every morning when I wake up, I speak out loud my goals and the character traits I would like to acquire. I prefer speaking out load and with as much enthusiasm as I can muster. Your mind works quicker when backed by a strong and positive motive or motives combined with strong positive emotion.

While I am doing this, I am listening for “hunches”, that I write down so that I can process them later. This allows me to take concrete steps daily towards fufilling my dreams. It gives me a plan of attack and also eliminates a ton of anxiety. I then use any extra time I have available to write and read inspirational books that inspire me. I find it best to do this in the morning. It’s amazing what a little positive reading can do, first thing in the morning, to improve your attitude.

I also get at least a half hour of rigorous exercise 4-5 times a week. I feel this type of exercise improves my attitude, diet, and my sleeping habits.

Then before I go to bed I repeat my morning goals and character traits, list 5 things I am grateful for and how they make me feel, then turn out the lights for some shut eye. Repeat 🙂


AddThis Social Bookmark Button

People I would love to hear from! (More to be added soon)

Dan Putt @ Life Putting
Debra Moorehead @ Career Development and Empowerment for Women Leaders
Stefan Karagos @ Anabubula
Jim Walton @ Black In Business
Malcolm Gladwell
Jason & Michael @ Black Belt Productivity
Surjit @ Gurushabad
Erich @ Life Training – Online
Ravi Raman @ Set Higher Standards
Maria Palma @ The Good Life
Rob @ Leave The Office

  1. Woody,

    Thanks for participating in the Simply Successful Secrets project!

    I love your idea about saying your goals and desired character traits out loud every morning. That is SO powerful!

    When you start your day by asking “Who am I going to BE today?” rather than “What am I going to DO today” it causes the entire day to suddenly be in YOUR control.

    Saying it all out loud makes that effect even more powerful.

    Great stuff, Woody. Looking forward to adding your wisdom to the rapidly growing collection from this project. Watch my blog for a final post that will include all of the success secrets once this project has run its course.

    Thanks again for sharing such great habits!

  2. Rob

    Really cool post Brad!
    It sounds like you have some good discipline going there, but a discipline which is enjoyable and not a chore. Very inspiring!

    I am coming up against a lot of resistance to this type of discipline for myself. I know intellectually what is best for me etc… but it must be my ego still desperately holding to something. Damn that ego! I need reinforcements!

    Thanks for the mention by the way…
    Rob

  3. Thanks, Brad! I also loved what you said about repeating your goals out loud, with emotion. It really does make a difference!

  4. JD

    Thanks for the shout out, I will reply with a blog post over the next few days. Keep Hope Alive




Leave a Reply

