Law of Success – Lesson 3 – Self-Confidence

law-of-success.jpg

 

 

You can if you believe you can”


AddThis Social Bookmark Button


 

Amidst all the mysteries by which we are surrounded, no thing
is more certain then that we are in the presence of an infinite and eternal
supply from which all things proceed” ~ Herbert Spencer

 

 

The first step to achieving total self confidence is the elimination of the six basic fears. Fear is nothing more than a state of mind. Take confidence that one may choose to control and direct his mind. Nature has endowed you with the gift to control your thoughts and everything you create begins in your thoughts. The three stages in the development of fear are, in order, indecision, doubt, and fear. Indecision turns to doubt and they combine together to form fear. Be aware because these stages can crop up on you without your recognition. Create a fertile state of mind, by eliminating any traces of fear, to cultivate your dreams to full harvest.

 

Six Basic Fears: (In order of appearance)

  • Poverty

  • Criticism

  • Ill – health

  • Old Age

  • Loss of love of someone

  • Death

 

Fear of Poverty: Fear of poverty stems from man’s desire to take from those around him. It is best put in the phrase, “the grass is greener on the other side.” There are six symptoms of having the fear of poverty, indifference, indecision, doubt, worry, over caution, and procrastination.

  • IndifferenceNo ambition. Willingness to accept events as fate without protest. Laziness, procrastination, lack of enthusiasm, imagination, and Self-control.

  • Indecision – No ability to come to your own conclusion.

  • WorryFinding fault with others. Overspending. Being careless with your appearance. Mean Facial expressions. Alcohol and drugs. Self–consciousness. Lack of poise.

  • Overcaution Pessimism, waiting for the right moment to take action.

  • Procrastination Creating alibis, closely related with overcaution, doubt, worry, and refusing to accept responsibility. Planning for failure. Accepting compromise instead of putting up a fight. Associating with those who accept poverty instead of seeking the company of those who demand and receive riches.

Fear of Criticism: Stems from man’s inherited nature to pretty on his fellow man and the need to justify his actions. There are six symptoms to the fear of criticism. These symptoms include self-conciousness, lack of personality, an inferiority complex, extravagance, lack of initiative, lack of ambition.

  • PersonalityLack of firm decisions and personal magnetism. Sidesteps issues instead of dealing with them head on.

  • Self ConsciousnessNervousness and timidity around others

  • Inferiority Complex Trying to impress others. Boasting of
    imaginary events. Gives surface appearance of superiority.

  • Extravagance Spending beyond one’s income.

  • Lack of Initiative Failure tom embrace opportunities. Lack of self-confidence.

  • Lack of Ambition Mental and physical laziness. Slow to make decisions. Easily influenced. Talking behind peoples backs. Accepting defeat without a fight. Unwillingness to take responsibility.

Fear of Ill Health: Closely associated with fear of death and fear of old age.

  • Self SuggestionNegative use of self suggestion. Speaking of self
    created illnesses. Leads to hypochondria.

  • HypochondriaClosely associated with self suggestions. Illnesses that begin in the mind. Include in this all forms of nervous energy.

  • Exercise Lack of proper exercise

  • Self Coddling Using imaginary illnesses as excuse for sympathy, laziness or alibi for lack of ambition.

  • Intemperance Using alcohol or narcotics to destroy pain.

Fear of Loss of Love:

  • JealousySuspicious of friends and loved ones without reasonable
    evidence.

  • Fault FindingFinding faults in others without any cause whatsoever.

  • Gambling Hazardous chances to provide for their loved ones. Insomnia, nervousness, lack of persistence, weakness of will, lack of self-control, bad temper.

Fear of Old Age: Shows inferiority complex at the age of mental maturity. Finds themselves slipping because of age. Is in the habit of apologizing for being “old”, which kills of initiative, self-reliance, imagination, and enthusiasm.

Fear of Death: The habit of thinking about dying instead of making the most out of life. Usually grows with age but sometimes it is found in young people. The best remedy is a burning desire for achievement backed by useful service of others.

“You are fortunate; if you have learned the difference between temporary defeat and failure; more fortunate still, if you have learned the truth that the very seed of success is dormant in every defeat that you experience.”
Napoleon Hill, Law of Success

“Your work and mine are peculiarly akin; I am helping the laws of nature create more perfect specimens of vegetation, while you are using those same laws through the law of success philosophy, to create more perfect specimens of thinkers.” ~Luther Burbank

“Struggle is a decided advantage, because it develops those qualities that would forever lie dormant without it” Napoleon Hill, Law of Success

Deliberately charge your mind with self-suggestion and your self-confidence will be an irresistible source.

“No man can become a great leader of men unless he has the milk of human kindness in his own heart, and leads by suggestion and kindness, rather than by force.”

“I believe in myself. I believe in those who work with me. I believe in my friends. I believe in my family. I believe that God will lend me everything I need with which to succeed if I do my best to earn it through faithful and honest service. I believe in prayer and I will never close my eyes in sleep without praying for divine guidance to the end that I will be patient with other people and tolerant with those who do not believe as I do. I believe that success is the result of intelligent effort and does not depend upon luck or sharp practices or double-crossing friends, fellow men, or my employer. I believe I will get out of life exactly what I put into it; therefore I will be careful to conduct myself toward others as I would want them to act toward me. I will not slander those whom I do not like. I will not slight my work no matter what I may see others doing. I will render the best service of which I am capable because I have pledged myself to succeed in life and I know that success is always the result of conscientious and efficient effort. Finally, I will forgive those who offend me because I realize that I shall sometimes offend others and Iwill need their forgiveness.”

 

This is an example of something that you could speak to yourself everyday that will influence your actions to become a better rounded person.

 

The one who advances believes in themselves and that he or she backs their belief with such dynamic aggressive action that others can recognize it in them.

 

Fill your mind with radiant self-confidence, through self suggestion, and set it up as your dominant thought. This helps you master the obstacles that all in your way until you reach the pinnacle of your achievements.

 

Believe in yourself but do not tell the world what you can do. Show it!


AddThis Social Bookmark Button


Related:

Law of Success – Lesson 1 – Introduction to The Master Mind

Law of Success – Lesson 2 – A Definite Chief Aim

Law of Success – Lesson 3 – Self Confidence

Law of Success – Lesson 5 – Initiative & Leadership

Law of Success – Lesson 6 – Imagination

  1. 1 Personal Development Carnival 03-04-07 - Spirituality Applied to Life - Balanced Life Center

    […] Woods presents Law of Success – Lesson 3 – Self-Confidence posted at Conceive, Believe, […]




Leave a Reply

